Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario

The Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario (ETFO) (or “Fédération des enseignants et des enseignantes de l’élémentaire de l’Ontario” – FEÉO) is a labour union representing all public elementary schoolteachers, occasional teachers and some Designated Early Childhood Educators (DECEs) in the Canadian province of Ontario. The union has 76 local chapters in the province, and over 78,000 members. The union was founded on July 1, 1998, by the merger of two predecessor organizations, the Federation of Women Teachers’ Associations of Ontario (FWTAO), and the Ontario Public School Teachers’ Federation (OPSTF)..